About this article

387 words
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Last updated
Monday, March 6, 2017
The Ravensworth Reviewer


Dear Ravens,

It is with an overwhelming sense of gratitude and pride that the Ravensworth family is pleased to announce the official launch and inaugural disbursement of the Ewart Brown/Swyer-Watson Academic Scholarship (EBSWAS).

Making good upon a commitment proffered on the occasion of the retirement of Mrs Sandra Swyer-Watson (Principal 2009 – 2016), Dr. the Hon. Ewart Brown proposed to fund an appropriately named academic scholarship to honour and mark the distinctive contribution of Mrs Swyer-Watson to St. Jago High School.  The scholarship, valued at Five Thousand United States Dollars (US$5000), is awarded annually to a qualified and deserving graduate of our noble school who is matriculated to pursue tertiary studies at either the University of the West Indies or Howard University in Washington, D.C.

A committee was convened to establish the framework and guidelines for the scholarship; to institute the methodologies and approaches for establishment of the fund; and to review and evaluate the application and selections process. The technical elements of the fund were administered in consultation with local private foundations and in collaboration with the University of the West Indies.  The committee comprises Dr. Ewart Brown (Principal Benefactor), Mrs. Sandra Swyer-Watson (Former Principal), Mrs. Collette Pryce (Principal), Ms. Melody Royal (SJPSA and Scholarship Fund Coordinator), and Ms. Lissa Grant (Board Member and Technical Advisor).

On recommendation of Mrs Swyer-Watson, former Head Boy and 2016 graduate, O’Jhai Bailey was interviewed and selected as the first recipient of the EBSWAS Scholarship.  Mr. Bailey is pursuing a course of study in Actuarial Science at the University of the West Indies, Mona, Class of 2019.  Mr. Bailey’s remarks will be presented in his own words in a letter to be circulated after this announcement.

We thank Dr. Brown for his vision and Mrs. Swyer-Watson for her dedicated service, and we look forward to keeping you updated on Mr. Bailey’s achievements.

Past Students interested in reviewing the guidelines for application of the Ewart Brown/Swyer-Watson Academic Scholarship (EBSWAS) may visit the St. Jago High School website at stjago.edu.jm. The application form can be downloaded below.



Ewart Brown/Swyer Watson Academic Scholarship Committee (EBSWAS) 2017

Attached: Application form and guidelines (in PDF) 


Please keep St Jago always in your thoughts and in your prayers.